East Midlands Counties League Premier Division: Ellistown & Ibstock United 0 Birstall United 11 (Eleven).

Terrace Rd Ground, Ellistown, Coalville, Leicestershire LE67 1GD.

The highest scoreline and the poorest display from a team I’ve ever witnessed on a Saturday league game. Being polite I’d say E&I were rubbish. The player we saw having a fag at HT having been subbed-off and with no more part to play looked the happiest I saw one of their players all day. After the second goal Birstall were scoring with almost every attack as E&I seemingly just gave up.

E&I’s manager had subbed one his players 5 minutes in for telling him to f*@k off and giving him the finger. I’d say it all went downhill for E&I from there-on but tbf it went downhill from the minute they kicked-off. Birstall should’ve scored 4 before the first one went in and from then on they scored with embarrassing ease.

Easily the coldest we’ve been at a match this season. I was well-up for an early dart but Frankie (rightly) refused to leave before full-time. He’s been brought-up well. I dunno what the attendance was…about 40 maybe with most coming from Birstall…but the people at E&I do wonders keeping such a decent set-up running on what seems so very little.

The game was delayed for over 10 minutes due to a back injury suffered by one of E&I players. Hope he makes a speedy recovery.

